ARCHIVE August, 2017

ME welcomes new faculty members

The Mechanical Engineering department welcomes Assistant Professors Like Li, Matthew Priddy, Christopher Barrett, and Wil Whittington, and Assistant Clinical Professor, Shane Brauer. Like Li received his B.S. and M.S. degrees in Mechanical Engineering from Central South University and Beijing University of Aeronautics and Astronautics in China, in 2007 and 2010, respectively.  Dr. Li received his Ph.D. in Mechanical Engineering […]

Bhushan’s paper received the Robert T. Knapp Award from the ASME Fluids and Engineering Division

Shanti Bhushan and his collaborators’ paper was selected to receive the Robert T. Knapp Award from the ASME Fluids and Engineering Division. The Robert T. Knapp award is presented for the most outstanding original papers pertaining to analytical or laboratory research in fluids engineering.    Bhushan’s paper “Analysis of Turbulence Generation and Energy Transfer Mechanisms in Boundary Layer Transition Using Direct Numerical Simulation” focuses on understanding the turbulence generation and […]

Dr. Tonya W. Stone promoted to associate professor with tenure

Congratulations to Dr. Tonya W. Stone, who was promoted to Associate Professor with tenure, effective Fall 2017.  Dr. Stone’s research is focused on combining theoretical, computational, and experimental investigations of the mechanical behavior of materials, including metals, polymers, cementitious materials and biomaterials, to establish relationships between the internal structure of a material and its mechanical […]

Lei Chen received the Ralph E. Powe Junior Faculty Enhancement Award

August 8, 2017 Contact: James Carskadon STARKVILLE, Miss.—A Mississippi State University assistant professor of mechanical engineering is among 37 researchers selected to receive a prestigious junior faculty grant from Oak Ridge Associated Universities. Lei Chen has received the Ralph E. Powe Junior Faculty Enhancement Award from ORAU for his research on metallic additive manufacturing. The […]

Our People – Michelle Price, graduate student